Myth #16 - The runner gets the base he/she's going to, plus one on a ball thrown out-of-play
When a fielder throws the ball into a dead ball area, the award is two bases. The award is from where the runners were at the time of the pitch if it is the first play by an infielder or pitcher acting as a fielder. On all other plays into dead ball area, the award is from where each runner was physically positioned (last base attained) at the time the ball left the throwers hand. If the ball was a pitch or an attempted pick-off (anything thrown from the position of the pitcher’s plate), and the ball goes into dead ball area, the award is one base. Exception: If all runners, including the batter-runner have advanced at least one base when the infielder makes a wild throw on the first play, the award shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time of the wild throw. Please understand that awards are based from the base last attained by the runner, not the fact that they were within a few feet of the next base. It doesn’t matter how close to the next base the runner was, you always award based upon last base attained at the time of the pitch or the time of the throw.
LL Playing Rules: 7.05(g) (h)